Back to top

Wincobank Nursery & Infant School

The Foundation Stage Curriculum

The National Curriculum for Foundation Stage Children
“The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) marks a critical time in a child’s early development. All early years’ providers must comply with the Government’s Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, which sets out the standards for learning, development and care for children aged 0-5. The Framework identifies seven areas of learning and development, divided into prime and specific areas of learning”.

The prime areas are:
Communication and language (giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations).
Physical development (providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food).
Personal, social and emotional development (helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities).

The additional four specific areas of learning through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied are:

  • Literacy - including reading and writing.
    • Mathematics.
    • Understanding the World - including early history, geography, IT and RE.
    • Expressive Arts and Design - including early music, art, drama, dance and design technology.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum at Wincobank Nursery Infants School is carefully designed to provide children with language rich, exciting and creative learning opportunities. The learning takes place both in and outdoors and provides the children with daily opportunities for structured play, whole class teaching, teacher lead group learning and independent learning.

Our curriculum is delivered through a series of mini topics, lasting 2 to 4 weeks each. As well as covering the National Curriculum for Foundation Stage our Curriculum also prepares children for later learning, underpinning the key vocabulary and concepts that children will need to be successful in KS1 and beyond. Each topic is revisited three times in the different EYFS year groups building children’s knowledge and understanding over time. Each year group takes a different story from which they develop children’s learning.

OVERVIEW of learning:

Within each topic children are taken through a carefully structured Learning Journey. This is shared with home so parents and carers are fully involved and can support their child/ren.

Direct teaching is supported by outstanding continuous and enhanced classroom provision.